Guest Lecturer

BAT-K
BAT-J
BAD-E
BAD-D
BAD-C
MAT-18
MAT-19
Dancer, choreographer, Academic head of the Bachelor in Contemporary Dance
BAT BAD MAT FC A-PRO
BAT-K
BAT-J
BAD-E
BAD-D
BAD-C
MAT-18
MAT-19
Dancer, choreographer, Academic head of the Bachelor in Contemporary Dance
BAT BAD MAT FC A-PRO

    Thomas Hauert

    Born and raised in Switzerland, Thomas Hauert studied at the Rotterdam Dance Academy in the Netherlands. He moved to Brussels in 1991 to work in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s company Rosas. He then collaborated with David Zambrano, Gonnie Heggen and Pierre Droulers. In 1998, he founded his company ZOO. Their first performance, Cows in Space (1998), was awarded two prizes at the Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis. Since then, Hauert has created around 20 performances with his company.
    In addition to his work for ZOO, Hauert was commissioned to create pieces for external structures like P.A.R.T.S., the Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, the Zurich Ballet, Toronto Dance Theatre…
    Thomas Hauert has developed a teaching method from his choreographic practice. As a teacher, he has an ongoing collaboration with the P.A.R.T.S. academy in Brussels and regularly gives workshops worldwide. In 2012–13, he was the guest professor for dance and performance at the Institute for Theater Studies of the Freie Universität of Berlin. In 2013, he was chosen to be the academic head of the new Bachelor in Contemporary Dance that was created at Manufacture – University of performing arts in Lausanne.
    Thomas Hauert is resident artist at Charleroi Danses and associated artist at Kaaitheater Brussels.
    The work of Thomas Hauert first developed from research on movement, with a particular interest in improvisation-based processes exploring the tension between freedom and constraint, individuals and the group, order and disorder, and form and formlessness.

    Contact

      Thomas Hauert

      Events & Albums

      • 01.03.16
        -
        31.12.18

        01.03.2016 - 31.12.2018

        Choreographic composition

        La composition chorégraphique aujourd'hui.
        Quels outils pour quelles positions artistiques ?

      • 27.06.16
        -
        01.07.16

        27.06 - 01.07.2016

        Professional workshop Thomas Hauert

        "Tools for dance improvisation"
        This 5 day (30 hours) workshop will allow to explore the training technique of Thomas Hauert.
        It is jointly organised by Manufacture and the Rencontres Professionnelles de Danses - Geneva.

        Application deadline : Wednesday, June 1st, 2016

Intervenants

Danseur, chorégraphe, responsable filière Bachelor Danse contemporaine
BAD FC A-PRO
Danseur, chorégraphe, responsable filière Bachelor Danse contemporaine
BAD FC A-PRO

    Thomas Hauert

    Après avoir grandi en Suisse, Thomas Hauert se forme en danse contemporaine à l’académie de Rotterdam (aujourd’hui Codarts) à partir de 1989. Il s’installe à Bruxelles en 1991 et danse pendant trois ans dans la compagnie Rosas d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Il collabore ensuite avec David Zambrano, Gonnie Heggen et Pierre Droulers. En 1998, il fonde sa compagnie ZOO et leur premier spectacle, Cows in Space, reçoit deux prix aux Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis. Il a créé à ce jour avec sa compagnie près d’une vingtaine de spectacles.
    En parallèle à son travail pour ZOO, Hauert est invité à créer des pièces pour P.A.R.T.S., le Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, le Ballet de Zurich, le Toronto Dance Theatre.
    Thomas Hauert a également développé une méthode d’enseignement à partir de sa pratique chorégraphique. Il enseigne à P.A.R.T.S. à Bruxelles et donne des stages dans le monde entier. En 2012-13, il est professeur invité à l’Institut d’études théâtrales de la Freie Universität de Berlin. En 2013, il est nommé responsable académique du nouveau Bachelor en danse contemporaine créé au sein de la Manufacture à Lausanne.
    Thomas Hauert est artiste en résidence à Charleroi/Danses et artiste associé au Kaaitheater à Bruxelles.
    Son travail se développe à partir d’une recherche sur le mouvement, avec un intérêt particulier pour une écriture basée sur l’improvisation et explorant la tension entre liberté et contrainte, individu et groupe, ordre et désordre, forme et informe.

    Contact

      • 27.06.16
        -
        01.07.16

        27.06 - 01.07.2016

        Atelier professionnel Thomas Hauert

        "Tools for dance improvisation"
        Organisé en collaboration avec les Rencontres Professionnelles de Danses - Genève, cet atelier de 5 jours (30 heures) permettra d'explorer la pédagogie de Thomas Hauert.

        Inscriptions avant le mercredi 1 juin 2016

      • 01.03.16
        -
        31.12.16

        01.03 - 31.12.2016

        Composition ♯ 2

        La composition chorégraphique aujourd'hui.
        Quels outils pour quelles positions artistiques ?

        Ces vingt dernières années ont vu se développer une grande diversité dans les pratiques de composition chorégraphique, et il n'est pas aisé de tracer aujourd'hui les contours de courants de composition, du moins dès que l'on sort de l'héritage plus évident des grandes traditions occidentales.